Renault e-Dams

A brand new adventure

On top of his racing in endurance with Toyota, and on top of his job as Red Bull Racing third driver, Sébastien signed a contract with e-Dams to race in the 2014-2015 season of the brand new FIA Formula E championship – the famous 100% electric series.

In theory, that sounds like a very interesting championship. On the one hand, because it departs from everything we are used to in motor sports, and on the other hand because Sébastien was among the front-runners during most of the practice sessions that were held during the past months. He notably made a hat-trick during the mock-up race, at Donington, early August, with pole and victory after having lead all the laps.

In Formula E, everything is brand new. To make a long story short, that championship last eleven races on new circuits, all in new cities like Beijing, Miami, Punta del Este (Uruguay) or Long Beach. The race week-end is shortened to one and only day, with qualifying in the morning and race in the afternoon. The race itself lasts one hour only, and the drivers have to change car at mid-race ! The tyres are threaded to make it more difficult to handle those very heavy single-seaters – which benefit from a spectacular torque thanks to their 100% electric engines.

“I drive for an excellent team, e-Dams, with Jean-Paul Driot and Alain Prost, explains Sébastien. That’s a new adventure, for sure, and it is fascinating. The championship took a great start, we are quite competitive as we were third in Putrajaya, and we won at Punta del Este in 2014. That was followed by yet another victory in Monaco in 2015.”

Renault e-Dams

Une toute nouvelle aventure!

En plus de disputer le championnat d’endurance avec Toyota et de son rôle de troisième pilote avec l’équipe Red Bull Racing, Sébastien a signé avec l’écurie e-Dams pour disputer la saison 2014-2015 du tout nouveau championnat FIA de Formule E, le fameux championnat de monoplaces 100% électriques.

Sur le papier, ce championnat s’annonce très intéressant. Non seulement parce qu’il se démarque de tout ce qui se fait en sport automobile, mais aussi parce que Sébastien s’est toujours classé aux avant-postes lors de la plupart des journées d’essais qui se sont déroulées ces derniers mois. Il a ainsi signé la pole-position et remporté la course « de répétition générale» qui s’est disputée sur le circuit de Donington au début du mois d’août.

En Formule E, tout est neuf. Pour faire simple, le championnat consiste en onze courses, sur des circuits inédits, dans des villes comme Pékin, Miami, Punta del Este (Uruguay) ou Long Beach. Les épreuves se jouent sur une seule journée, avec les qualifications le matin et la course l’après-midi. Des courses d’une heure seulement, avec changement de monoplace à mi-course ! Les pneus sont sculptés pour rendre l’adhérence plus précaire sur ces voitures plutôt lourdes, mais au couple spectaculaire fourni par leur moteur 100% électrique.

« Je pilote pour une excellente écurie, e-Dams, avec Jean-Paul Driot et Alain Prost. C’est une nouvelle aventure, c’est passionnant. Le championnat débute bien, nous sommes compétitifs puisque nous avons commencé par une troisième place à Putrajaya et une victoire à Punta del Este en 2014, suivies en 2015 par une victoire à Monaco. »