Toyota Racing

Since 2012, Sébastien has been one of the drivers of the Toyota endurance team. The reigning World Champions and three-time Le Mans winners will defend those titles against new manufacturer competitors using a racing version of the upcoming hypercar road car, featuring powertrain technology developed in the TS050 HYBRID and highlighted via new GAZOO Racing branding.

TOYOTA GAZOO Racing enters its tenth season in WEC with the same driver line-up which brought Le Mans and World Championship glory to the team in the 2019-2020 campaign. Sebastien Buemi will ride in car #8 accompanied by Kazuki Nakajima and Brendon Hartley. Those battles will be fought over six races on three continents, beginning with the 1000 Miles of Sebring on 19 March prior to the 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps on May 1st, the 8 Hours of Portimão on June 13th and the first World Championship endurance race in Monza since 1992 takes place on on July 18th. The season highlight the 24 Hours of Le Mans on August 21-22. Fuji Speedway on September 26 and Bahrain on November 20.

"We have been waiting for this new era for a long time and finally we get to compete with our hypercar; I think it will be amazing. I am really pleased with the GR010 HYBRID; it feels like a very good car and it looks stunning. Actually, I was not expecting to be as fun to drive as it is; I thought it would feel like a GT car. But we learned a lot during our LMP1 era and we used that knowledge to improve the new car, so it feels like a prototype and I really enjoy driving such a fast car. We are getting ready for the first race of the season when we want to fight for the win right from the start. It was great to succeed in LMP1 but now we want to do the same in the Le Mans Hypercar era."

Sébastien holds the WEC victory record with 16 victories.

Toyota Racing

Depuis 2012, Sébastien compte parmi les pilotes de l’équipe Toyota en endurance. Les champions du monde en titre et les trois fois vainqueurs du Mans défendront leurs titres contre les nouveaux concurrents en utilisant une version de course de la prochaine voiture de route hypercar, dotée d'une technologie de groupe motopropulseur développée dans la TS050 HYBRID et mise en valeur par la nouvelle marque GAZOO Racing.

TOYOTA GAZOO Racing entame sa dixième saison en WEC avec la même équipe de pilotes qui a apporté la gloire au Mans et du Championnat du monde par équipe lors de la saison 2019-2020. Sébastien Buemi roulera avec la voiture #8 accompagnée de Kazuki Nakajima et Brendon Hartley. Six courses sur trois continents, à commencer par les 6 Heures de Spa-Francorchamps le 1er mai, les 8h de Portimão le 13 juin et la première course d'endurance du championnat du monde à Monza depuis 1992 a lieu le 18 juillet. Les 24 Heures du Mans les 21-22 août. Fuji Speedway le 26 septembre et à Bahreïn le 20 novembre.

"Nous attendons cette nouvelle ère depuis longtemps et nous pouvons enfin rivaliser avec notre hypercar ; je pense qu'elle sera étonnante. Je suis très satisfait de la GR010 HYBRID ; elle est très agréable à conduire et elle est superbe. En fait, je ne m'attendais pas à ce qu'elle soit aussi amusante à conduire qu'elle l'est ; je pensais qu'elle aurait l'air d'une voiture GT. Mais nous avons beaucoup appris pendant notre période LMP1 et nous avons utilisé toutes nos connaissances pour améliorer la nouvelle voiture. Nous nous préparons pour la première course de la saison, où nous voulons nous battre pour la victoire dès le départ. C'était génial de réussir en LMP1, mais maintenant nous voulons faire de même à l'ère de l'Hypercar au Mans".

Sébastien détient le record de victoire en WEC avec 16 succès.